Permission to Come Back

I wonder what felt good to you this week.

Did you box something up to ship to your mama, because May already?! (May 8th, May 8th, May 8th.)

unnamed-3

Did you futz around with an itinerary for Italy (and also Hawaii, Vancouver BC, and the San Juan Islands) because work hard/dream big?

Did you over-tip at a sweet little spot in Southeast, because the masterminds behind your carrots/quinoa/almonds/seeds/yogurt made you shy-smile, bloom pink?

unnamed-4

Did you fall apart over falafel another night, in front of someone who rubbed your back and mopped your cheeks and coaxed you into sipping something stronger than your usual — because big, belly-shaking laughter trumps the watery variety, every day of the week?

unnamed

Did you swing through a farmer’s market suddenly no longer so sparse, because spring?! Because fiddleheads, peas, and ramps, because rhubarb, arugula, and strawberries. Because cheese — nutty, sharp, lemony cheese. (Gorgeous golden paste, fiery orange rind.)

unnamed-12

Did you make something you’d been eyeing?

Sit someplace still?

unnamed-17

Wake up to birds singing?

Take a baby risk?

Set some sort of boundary?

Make a summer plan?

unnamed-11

Finish a good book?

Pick out something to look forward to?

Laugh at a text a little too true?

unnamed-2

Did you buy the shoes?

Eat the cake?

Decide [once and for all] which kind of person you’d [much, much] rather be?______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

“Our stories are not meant for everyone. If we have one or two people in our lives who can sit with us and hold space for our shame stories, and love us for our strengths and struggles, we are lucky. If we have a friend, or small group of friends, or family who embraces our imperfections and vulnerabilities and fills us with a sense of belonging, we are incredibly lucky.” -Brené Brown

unnamed-13

“I love people that read. These people want more knowledge, more experience. Whatever this life is, they want more of it.” -Nicholas Browne

unnamed-23

“Don’t let this be the summer that you look back on and think, ‘I should have worn shorts more. I should have laughed more, and apologized less. I should have loved more and worried less. I should have let the sand trickle through my toes for an extra hour and brought messy sandwiches for us to eat there on the beach, instead of rushing home to be perfect and exhausted and vaguely discontented for reasons I could never quite name. I should have thrown my cares into the bottom of the ocean, and floated on the waves of my own happiness. I should have lived like that.’” -Lisbeth Darsh

unnamed-18

“Smultronställe (n.) lit. “place of wild strawberries”; a special place discovered, treasured, returned to for solace and relaxation; a personal idyll free from stress or sadness.”

unnamed-9

“She’s sensitive. Takes to hurt the way water takes to paper.” -Junot Diaz

“She thought she was independent and strong, but she got one small taste of love and she was hungrier than anyone. She was ravenous.” -Ann Brashares

“It’s an interesting combination: Having a great fear of being alone, and having a desperate need for solitude and the solitary experience. That’s always been a tug of war for me.” -Jodie Foster

unnamed-14

“I’d like to believe that we are all more loved than we’ll ever know. And we’re all in this together.” -Jamie Tworkowski

unnamed-16

“More than anything, my wish for you is this: That when your awful darkest days come, you will know you’re not alone. Life is fragile and we all break in different ways. I hope you know you can be honest. I hope you know that you can ask for help. Did you catch that? It is absolutely positively okay to ask for help. It simply means you’re human. Help is real and it is possible; people find it every day.” -Jamie Tworkowski

unnamed-6

“Somebody needs what you have to give. It may not be your money; it may be your time. It may be your listening ear, it may be your smile, it may be your arms. Who knows? Maybe you can give a rescuing hug.” -Joel Osteen

unnamed-15

“I was beginning to see I could step out of this sad little life like it was a sorry old dress.” -Jandy Nelson

unnamed-10

“It was good for a while, being empty. I didn’t hurt anymore. But as time went on, it was like I could hear myself from far away, begging for permission to come back.” -Myra McEntire

“I think you can sort of slip out of your life and it can be hard to find a way back in.” -Jandy Nelson

unnamed-7

“If we’re wrapping ourselves up to conceal any vulnerability, whatever happens to us has to go through all those extra layers. Sometimes love doesn’t even reach where we truly live.” -Alexandra Katehakis

I wantI wantI want – was all that she could think about – but just what this real want was she did not know.” -Carson McCullers

“I need beauty. I need to see the lovely in my every day. But what is it? What is beautiful? We know what we are lacking, but do we know what beautiful looks like? Is it a rainstorm or a new dress or a plate of shrimp & grits or Monet’s lily pads? Yes. It is all those things. And more. So much more.” -Annie F. Downs

unnamed-22

“Wake up to the sound of yourself and let it be the most beautiful thing.” -Caitlyn Siehl

“In my own worst seasons I’ve come back from the colorless world of despair by forcing myself to look hard, for a long time, at a single glorious thing: a flame of red geranium outside my bedroom window. My daughter in a yellow dress. The perfect outline of a full, dark sphere behind the crescent moon. Like a stroke victim retraining new parts of the brain to grasp lost skills, I have taught myself joy, over and over again.” -Barbara Kingsolver

unnamed-24

“It’s about living in the moment and appreciating the smallest things. Surrounding yourself with the things that inspire you and letting go of the obsessions that want to take over your mind. It is a daily struggle sometimes and hard work, but happiness begins with your own attitude and how you look at the world.” -Gretchen Rubin

unnamed-8

“It is an illusion that photos are made with the camera…they are made with the eye, heart, and head.” -Henri Cartier-Bresson

“There’s always more to see and feel.” -Emily Henry

“My whole life I’ve been telling myself, ‘don’t be afraid’. And it is only now that I’m realizing how stupid that is. Don’t be afraid. Like saying, ‘don’t move out of the way when someone tries to punch you’ or ‘don’t flinch at the heat of fire’ or ‘don’t blink’. Don’t be human. I’m afraid and you’re afraid and we’re all always going to be afraid, because that’s the point. What I should be telling myself is ‘be afraid, but do it anyway’. Live anyway.” -Unknown

unnamed-21

{Moody mountains via @young.seeker, Pacific City via @pandahawk, Punchbowl Falls via @minimalistbaker, dating truths via @elitedaily, kitchen flowers via @evakosmasflores, roasted rhubarb financier via @meganleevoigt, waves via @cwar5, Cascade Locks via @jennavgenio, Thor’s Well via @gettyphotography, Winter Falls via @andresmedina, Hug Point woods via @pandahawk, St. John’s bridge via @scallywagswag — all on Instagram.}

One thought on “Permission to Come Back

  1. My brother recommended I might like this website.
    He was totally right. This post actually made my day.
    You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

