Ribbon Candy

“It’s not that there is no small talk. It’s that it comes not at the beginning of conversations but at the end. Sensitive people enjoy small talk only after they’ve gone deep. When introverts are in environments that nurture their authenticity, they laugh and chitchat just as much as anyone else.” -Susan Cain

unnamed-4

“To fall in love with someone’s thoughts — the most intimate, splendid romance.” -Sanober Khan

unnamed-16

“I take pleasure in my transformations. I look quiet and consistent, but few know how many women there are in me.” -Anaïs Nin

unnamed-13

“Just simple days. Simple days of laughing lots and breathing deep and loving with my whole heart and feeling that love back. That’s all I’m really looking for now.” -S.C. Lourie

“Loneliness does not come from being alone, but from being unable to communicate the things that seem important.” -C. G. Jung

“When you’re happy for yourself, it fills you. When you’re happy for someone else, it pours over.” -Sarah Addison Allen

unnamed-7

“I don’t want you to change. I’m not in love with who you could be, or who you used to be, or who the world says you should be. I’m in love with you. Right now, just like this.” -Colleen Hoover

“I’ve noticed before that if you go too long without anyone seeing you, really seeing you, it’s easy to start wondering if you’re really there.” -Maggie Mitchell

unnamed-11

“On some nights it’s best to stop thinking about the past, and all that’s been won and lost. On nights like this, just getting into bed, crawling between the clean white sheets, is a great relief.” -Alice Hoffman

“When it comes to men who are romantically interested in you, it’s really simple. Just ignore everything they say and only pay attention to what they do.” -Randy Pausch

unnamed-2

“I don’t mess around or play games. I don’t believe in them. I just want honesty. I’d rather say ‘Heads up’ than ‘I’m sorry’ later. Your relationship is supposed to be the safe place.” -John Mayer

“I was, I am and I will always be wanting tenderness.” -Brigitte Bardot

“Every now and then, I’ll run into someone who claims not to like chocolate, and while we live in a country where everyone has the right to eat what they want, I want to say for the record that I don’t trust these people, that I think something is wrong with them, and that they’re probably — and this must be said — total duds in bed.” -Steve Almond

“In quoting others, we cite ourselves.” -Julio Cortázar

“The story of human intimacy is one of constantly allowing ourselves to see those we love most deeply in a new, more fractured light. Look hard. Risk that.” -Cheryl Strayed

unnamed-6

“I don’t think that people accept the fact that life doesn’t make sense. I think it makes people terribly uncomfortable.” -David Lynch

“I wanted the past to go away, I wanted to leave it, like another country; I wanted my life to close, and open like a hinge, like a wing, like the part of the song where it falls down over the rocks: an explosion, a discovery; I wanted to hurry into the work of my life; I wanted to know whoever I was, I was alive for a little while.” -Mary Oliver

“I want to infect you with the tremendous excitement of living, because I believe that you have the strength to bear it.” -Tennessee Williams

“Sympathy’s easy. Empathy is getting down on your knees and looking someone else in the eye and realizing you could be them, and that all that separates you is a little luck.” -Dennis Lehane

unnamed-8

“To hurt is as human as to breathe.” -J.K. Rowling

“What is there to say? You know how much I have loved you.” -Zelda Fitzgerald

“Mostly it is loss which teaches us about the worth of things.” -Arthur Schopenhauer

“Even in this world where you’re seemingly getting everything you need and having this nice life, there’s still loneliness and longing and isolation and disconnection.” -Spike Jonze

unnamed-14

“But something occurred to me as I sped through that dirty shroud of fog, something Vonnegut has been trying to explain to the rest of us for most of his life. And that is this: Despair is a form of hope. It is an acknowledgment of the distance between ourselves and our appointed happiness. At certain moments, it is reason enough to live.” -Steve Almond

“The next morning dawned bright and sweet, like ribbon candy. It looked like the world was covered in a cobbler crust of brown sugar and cinnamon. Snow flurries began to fall and they swirled around people’s legs like house cats. It was magical, this snow globe world.” -Sarah Addison Allen

unnamed-9

“It’s a long life, sweetheart, and time heals all wounds.” -Cheryl Strayed

{Morning light via @niki_pike, Bend skyline via @jhnyhmnd, White Horse Falls via @mssdaisy1, crescent moon via @bythebrush, migrating birds via @thesamgraves, St. John’s Bridge via @toetoero, foggy Alpine Lake via @scott_kranz, Portland skyline via @mc912 — all on Instagram.}

Leave a Reply

