Right Turns

I always start writing the same way. I mess around on the Internet for longer than strictly necessary, I thumb through the recent photos on my phone, and I do my best to delay the inevitable encounter with the bottom of my coffee cup.

unnamed-1

There is nothing wrong with this picture. But there’s another one I like better. Can I show you?

unnamed-3

I err on the introverted side, but I have to admit: coffee & company trumps this string of solitary Sundays I’ve had going.

I’m so glad they’re here. It’s quiet now, but it won’t be soon. Soon the sun will warm this corner of my bed and I’ll wander out into the kitchen and there’ll be a piping hot Bialetti spitting espresso in six different directions. There’ll be a fight for the front burners, a forgotten timer for the French press, and a dishwasher everybody is hoping somebody else will unload.

Someone will, however, have gotten around to emptying the fridge. At first glance, there will be eggs, milk, cheese, parsley, last night’s roasted vegetables, and some smoked salmon. Over by the cutting board, there will be really good sourdough rye, a handful of runaway of caraway seeds, and a few of the everything bagels from down the street. Upon closer inspection, there will be upended (all open, all half empty) containers of Greek yogurt, along with the raspberries no longer so carefully placed behind the brown rice on the second shelf. To the left of the berries, there will be spoon-sliced bananas, sticky dates, slivered almonds, and, time of day be damned, a tin foiled cheesecake.

unnamed-2

It’ll smell like coffee and butter and chaos and I won’t be able to find my tea and I’ll probably burn my oats, but it will be perfect. There will be absolutely no other place I’d rather be.

unnamed-4

Well, almost.

The best part about having people visit doesn’t have much to do with the meals, although I love those and (yikes!) had miss them dearly.

unnamed-9

The best part is being able to go places, and see/think/talk about such different things.

unnamed-7

You can do all the reading/writing/working/walking/cooking/podcast-listening/texting/calling you want, but I think it’s awfully easy to let your world get relatively narrow, when you’re alone.

unnamed-16

Don’t get me wrong — there are a lot of wonderful parts about spending some time really on your own. The majority of which I think we forget when we’re wishing for a boyfriend or a group of friends or a sibling right around the corner. (If I were to put a picture of very green grass here, would you follow?)

unnamed-12

But it really is a different kind of joy, to be with people. I took photo after photo yesterday, and gave them each the same quiet caption. This place, these people.

unnamed

It’s always this way, when I see people I love — I enjoy the little moments as much as the big ones.

unnamed-17

I liked the conversation in the car, which bounced between subjects we put down and picked back up once we were out on the trail. It’s easier to talk somehow, when you’re moving. Even if you’re wearing white socks and you’re making your way through what looks like brownie batter, and all of a sudden you’re slip-sliding through a fair amount of snow.

unnamed-8

(Two words: worth it!!)

unnamed-10

They think I need a strategy — these people who love me. I haven’t quite worked out what I think I need yet. I think it probably involves an email. And another risk — an actual risk. I don’t think we’re going to get much further without taking a couple more of those.

unnamed-15

“Once you’ve taken a few punches and realize you’re not made of glass, you don’t feel alive unless you’re pushing yourself as far as you can go.” -Matt Buckner

“To love somebody is to give them the power to hurt you, and nobody can hurt you if you’re the only one writing the script. Controlling people are the loneliest people in the world.” -Don Miller

“You will evolve past certain people. Let yourself.” -Mandy Hale

“People disappeared, reappeared, made plans to go somewhere, and then lost each other, searched for each other, found each other a few feet away.” -F. Scott Fitzgerald

“I cannot stress enough that the answer to life’s questions is often in people’s faces. Try putting your iPhones down once in a while, and look in people’s faces. People’s faces will tell you amazing things.” -Amy Poehler

“Most things that are important, have you noticed, lack a certain neatness.” – Mary Oliver

Leave a Reply

