Storytime

“Muster up the rest of your courage and repeat after me: I will not be afraid of tomorrow.” -Unknown

“You wake up every morning to fight the same demons that left you so tired the night before, and that, my love, is bravery.” -Unknown

“This mental illness is very odd. One day, waves are crashing against my skull sending it shaking, and the next, the sun is shining and everything is clear and calm.” -Unknown

“I laughed and said life is easy. What I meant was, life is easy with you here, and when you leave, it will be hard again.” -Unknown

“There is no magic cure, no making it all go away forever. There are only small steps upward. An easier day, an unexpected laugh, a mirror that doesn’t matter anymore.” -Laurie Halse Anderson

unnamed-3

“Recovery feels like shit. It didn’t feel like I was doing something good; it felt like I was giving up. It feels like having to learn how to walk all over again.” -Portia de Rossi

“Round and round she walked, and so learned a very valuable thing: that no emotion is the final one.” -Jeanette Winterson

“The leap of faith is this: You have to believe, or at least pretend you believe until you really believe it, that you are strong enough to take life face on. Eating disorders, on any level, are a crutch. They are also an addiction and an illness, but there is no question at all that they are quite simply a way of avoiding the banal, daily, itchy pain of life.” -Marya Hornbacher

“Keep this concept in mind: You’ve failed many times, although you don’t remember. You fell down the first time you tried to walk. You almost drowned the first time you tried to swim. Don’t worry about failure. My suggestion to each of you: Worry about the chances you miss when you don’t even try.” -Sherman Finesilver

unnamed-6

“I am angry that I starved my brain and sat shivering in my bed at night instead of dancing or reading poetry or eating ice cream or kissing a boy.” -Laurie Halse Anderson

“Between 10 and 20 percent of people with anorexia die from heart attacks, other complications and suicide; the disease has the highest mortality rate of any mental illness. Countless others lose their lives in a different way, to the roller coaster of relapse and recovery, inpatient and outpatient, that eats up, on average, five to seven years. Or a lifetime: only half of all anorexics recover in the end. The other half endure lives of dysfunction and despair. Friends and families give up on them. Doctors dread treating them. They’re left to stand in the bakery with the voice ringing in their ears, alone in every way that matters.” -Harriet Brown

“This new day is too dear, with its hopes and invitations, to waste a moment on the yesterdays.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

“We have the ability to choose. We can choose what will occupy our minds, and how we will act.” -Kathy Kalina

unnamed-2

“It’s never been true, not anywhere at any time, that the value of a soul, of a human spirit, is dependent on a number on a scale. We are unrepeatable beings of light and space and water who need these physical vehicles to get around. When we start defining ourselves by that which can be measured or weighed, something deep within us rebels. We don’t want to EAT hot fudge sundaes as much as we want our lives to BE hot fudge sundaes.” -Geneen Roth

“Get off the scale! I have yet to see a scale that can tell you how enchanting your eyes are. I have yet to see a scale that can show you how wonderful your hair looks when the sun shines its glorious rays on it. I have yet to see a scale that can thank you for your compassion, sense of humor, and contagious smile. Get off the scale because I have yet to see one that can admire you for your perseverance when challenged in life.” -Steve Maraboli

“I make up the person I want to be and she brushes off her shoulders and gives her attention to something more deserving.” -Rebeka Anne

“Often, it’s not about becoming a new person, but becoming the person you were meant to be, and already are, but don’t know how to be.” -Heath L. Buckmaster

“In her presence, I was reminded again of why I was an anorexic: fear. Of my needs, for food, for sleep, for touch, for simple conversation, for human contact, for love.” -Marya Hornbacher

“Love — the desire to love and be loved, to hold and be held, to give love even if your experience as a recipient has been compromised or incomplete — is the constant on the continuum of hunger. It’s what links the anorexic to the garden-variety dieter, it’s the persistent pulse of need and yearning behind the reach for food, for sex, for something.” -Caroline Knapp

unnamed

“If you find parts of yourself missing, do not search for them in somebody else. I swear you will find them one day; and if not, you will discover pieces you have never seen before. You are not a simple work of art. You are the entire museum.” -Ming D. Liu

“There are some people in this world who you can just love and love and love, no matter what.” -John Green

“There are two ways of telling your story. One is to tell it compulsively and urgently, to keep returning to it because you see your present suffering as the result of your past experiences. But there is another way. You can tell your story from the place where it no longer dominates you. You can speak about it with a certain distance and see it as the way to your present freedom.” -Henri Nouwen

“What wonderful thing didn’t start out scary?” -Isaac Marion

“In the midst of hate, I found there was in me, an invincible love. In the midst of tears, I found there was within me, an invincible calm. In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer. And that makes me happy. For it says that no matter how hard the world pushes against me, within me, there’s something stronger — something better, pushing right back.” -Albert Camus

{Tree-lined tunnel of light by @ioegreer on Instagram.}

Leave a Reply

