Catch and Release

“When I’m mad at you, I won’t talk to you. I’ll huddle on my side of the bed, wait until you’re out of the kitchen, avoid your name if I can. I’ll be mad at you, but I’ll make sure there’s enough milk for you in the mornings. I’ll be mad, and so I’ll love you quietly.” -Unknown

“It is a strange and beautiful thing how everyone loves in a different way. Some people love with flowers and messages. Others with cigarettes and long walks in the rain. Some with poetry and mellow silences. And yes, people won’t love you the way you want them to love you. It will never ever be perfect. But you don’t want a perfect love. You want a real love.”

“In my defense, when he touched me, the lights of my body came on. In my defense, the windows were thrown open. In my defense, spring.” -Cristin O’Keefe

unnamed-3

“There are two reasons why people don’t talk about things; either it doesn’t mean anything to them, or it means everything.” -Luna Adriana

“That’s how they say it: He loves you in his own way. Well, what about my way? What if I need for him to love me in my way?” -Tammara Webbe

“Know how to quit something. How to just be done with something. How to let go of the things that no longer make you feel alive. Quitting fuels the art of letting go, so it would be good to learn how to let some things go. Arguments. Problems. Bad habits. Political debates on Facebook walls. People who don’t really see you beyond who you used to be. Here’s a promise: Holding on won’t always mean everything the way it does in this moment.” -Hannah Brencher

“Forget anything that makes you feel like half of a person. Forget anything and anyone who makes you feel like a work in progress. Forget anything that makes you feel like a home that needs gutting and renovating and all sorts of strenuous work before anyone will ever look at you and call you lovely.” -Hannah Brencher

unnamed-1 copy

“When we get married, I want the whole house to smell like you. I want to be able to walk down the hallway and breathe the girl of my dreams.” -Alexis M. Smith

“Your ambition should be to get as much life out of living as you possibly can — as much enjoyment, as much interest, as much experience, as much understanding. And not to simply be what is generally called a ‘success.’” -Eleanor Roosevelt

unnamed-2

“The greater danger for most of us lies not in setting our aim too high and falling short, but in setting our aim too low and achieving the mark.” -Michelangelo

“Promise me if we ever become like my parents you’ll let me go. If we can’t talk to each other without shouting, promise me you’ll let me go. Promise me if you start going on stupid dating websites and talking to women whose existence you deny; promise me if you feel the need to tell me they ‘mean nothing’ that you’ll let me go. Please just promise that if we can’t look each other in the eye anymore; if we end up sleeping in different beds in different rooms at the ends of long corridors; if we can’t laugh at the same jokes and pride becomes more important than forgiveness…please just promise me that if you’re not happy and I’m not happy, you’ll let me go.” -Unknown

unnamed-4

“Perhaps some day I’ll crawl back home, beaten, defeated. But not as long as I can make stories out of my heartbreak, beauty out of sorrow.” -Sylvia Plath

“If the last few years have taught me anything at all, it’s that the very things you think you need most desperately are the things that can transform you the most profoundly when you do finally decide to release them.” -Shania Niequist

“All the gods, all the heavens, all the hells, are within you.” -Joseph Campbell

“I once heard a sober alcoholic say that drinking never made him happy, but it made him feel like he was going to be happy in about fifteen minutes. That was exactly it, and I couldn’t understand why the happiness never came, couldn’t see the flaw in my thinking, couldn’t see that alcohol kept me trapped in a world of illusion, procrastination, paralysis. I lived always in the future, never in the present. Next time, next time! Next time I drank it would be different, next time it would make me feel good again. And all my efforts were doomed, because already drinking hadn’t made me feel good in years.” -Heather King

unnamed-1

“‘I can’t handle this,’ he told her. But something in his expression screamed: I can’t handle you. And she thought then, that perhaps all relationships were just a case of who gave up first. And her pride couldn’t decide which was worse: giving up when you had promised them not to, or waking up to find that they had given up on you.”

“She was transparent, heartbreaking. I would be afraid to be so vulnerable. I’d spent the last three years trying to build up some kind of a skin, so I wouldn’t drip with blood every time I brushed up against something. She was naked, she peeled herself daily.” -Janet Fitch

“The only thing I know is this: I am full of wounds and still standing on my feet.” -Nikos Kazantzakis

{Old barn via @ioegreer on Instagram.}

2 thoughts on “Catch and Release

Leave a Reply

