Keep It Simple, Keep It Honest, Keep It Coming

“Draw a monster. Why is it a monster?” -Janice Lee

“I wanna know what you see when you look in the mirror on a day you’re feeling good. I wanna know what you see when you look in the mirror on a day you’re feeling bad. I wanna know the first person who taught you your beauty could ever be reflected on a lousy piece of glass.” -Andrea Gibson

“My mouth is a fire escape. The words coming out don’t care that they are naked, there is something burning in here.” -Andrea Gibson

“I want to apologize to all the women I have called beautiful before I’ve called them intelligent or brave. I am sorry I made it sound as though something as simple as what you’re born with is all you have to be proud of when you have broken mountains with your wit. From now on I will say things like you are resilient, or you are extraordinary, not because I don’t think you’re beautiful, but because I need you to know you are more than that.” -Rupi Kaur

“I said to the sun, ‘Tell me about the big bang.’ The sun said, ‘It hurts to become.’” -Andrea Gibson

unnamed-5

“So build yourself as beautiful as you want your world to be. Wrap yourself in light then give yourself away with your heart, your brush, your march, your art, your poetry, your play. And for every day you paint the war, take a week and paint the beauty, the color, the shape of the landscape you’re marching towards. Everyone knows what you’re against; show them what you’re for.” -Andrea Gibson

“To hell with being ashamed of what you liked.” -Ralph Ellison

“Art and love are the same thing: It’s the process of seeing yourself in things that are not you.” -Chuck Klosterman

“My religion is very simple. My religion is kindness.” -Dalai Lama

“People grow when they are loved well. If you want to help others heal, love them without an agenda.” -Mike McHargue

“All I want from your love is for you to keep it simple, keep it honest, and keep it coming.” -William Chapman

“Bad stuff does happen, sometimes. But you have to move on somehow. You pick your head up and you stare at something beautiful, like the sky, or the ocean, and you move the hell on. ” -James Patterson

unnamed-3

“And you laugh like you’ve never been lonely. You laugh like there’s hope in the story.” -Ben Howard

“But still, I find the need to remind myself of the temporariness of a day, to reassure myself that I got through yesterday, I’ll get through today.” -Gayle Forman

“Sleep heavily and know that I am here with you. The past is gone, and cannot harm you anymore. And while the future is fast coming for you, it always flinches first, and settles in as the gentle present. This now, this us, we can cope with that. We can do this together, you and I.” -Cecil Baldwin

“Time can be slowed if you live deliberately. If you stop and watch sunsets. If you spend time sitting on porches listening to the woods. If you give in to the reality of the seasons.” -Thomas Christopher Greene

unnamed-4

“The only thing that makes life possible is permanent, intolerable uncertainty: not knowing what comes next.” -Ursula K. Le Guin

“Your name is humming inside my chest. I think this is what it means to love. I think this is what it means to be living.” -Emma Bleker

“Run my dear, from anything that may not strengthen your precious budding wings. Run like hell my dear, from anyone likely to put a sharp knife into the sacred, tender vision of your beautiful heart.” -Hafiz

{Cabin via @airbnb on Instagram, via a wonderful old friend.}

Leave a Reply

