The Way Forward

Sometimes there are so many thoughts in my head that the only way forward is to levaincookie. It’s a verb, now.

unnamed

I wonder how many of them I’ve eaten since I moved to Manhattan. Oh boy. Maybe this is one of those things that we shouldn’t be wondering about.

I seem to have temporarily misplaced everything that ever made any sense, so I’m back to just sort of feeling my way. Can I tell you a secret? I really, really hate this part of growing up. Can you just direct me, today? I’m ready to listen.

unnamed-2

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

“Writing is a lonely job. Having someone who believes in you makes a lot of difference. They don’t have to make speeches. Just believing is usually enough.” -Stephen King

“You are a sentence and I am a semicolon begging you to go on.” -Meghan Lynn

“I love you, but I’m mad at you is one of the most freeing, important things you can say in a stable relationship. Does that make sense? To know that you have the ability and the right to be mad at someone and know that it doesn’t mean things are over, that it doesn’t mean things are irreparable. That it just means I’m mad, but God, I love you. I love you. Now leave me alone.” -Unknown

“The older you get, the more you realize that it isn’t about the material things, or pride, or ego. It’s about our hearts and who they beat for.” -Unknown

“If I have written about you, for good or for bad, the fact is, I have loved you.” -Eventide

“People travel to wonder at the height of the mountains, at the huge waves of the seas, at the long course of the rivers, at the vast compass of the ocean, at the circular motion of the stars, and yet they pass by themselves without wondering.” -St. Augustine

“Talking to a therapist, I thought, was like taking your clothes off and then taking your skin off, and then having the other person say, ‘Would you mind opening up your rib cage so that we can start?’” -Julie Schumacher

“Look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Be curious.” -Stephen Hawking

“You’re up too high and down too low. Neither is the place where we get any work done. We get the work done on the ground level. And the kindest thing I can do for you is to tell you to get your ass on the floor. I know it’s hard to write, darling. But it’s harder not to. The only way you’ll find out if you ‘have it in you’ is to get to work and see if you do.” -Cheryl Strayed

“Just work. Don’t wait. Everybody’s waiting until they have the perfect idea to start working. Even if you have an inkling of what you want to do, start moving towards it. And it’s going to flesh itself out through the process of moving towards the goal. And by the time you get to where you’re going to be, it’s not going to look anything like it did when you sat on the couch thinking about it. And if you wait until it’s perfect in your head before you get of the couch and start working on it, that’s never going to happen.” -Brandon Stanton

“You have to stop believing that you need other people’s permission to be okay with yourself. That however you do or don’t align with what other people value determines your worth. That however the world does or doesn’t show you kindness is a direct reflection of how much you deserve it. You have to be kind to yourself. Even, and probably most especially, when it seems least deserved.” -Brianna Wiest

“Just let go. Let go of how you thought your life should be, and embrace the life that is trying to work its way into your consciousness.” -Caroline Myss

“Most things good for writing are bad for life. ‘May your life be not very good material’ is a blessing I offer students and small babies.” -Lorrie Morre

“I want to write a novel about silence…the things people don’t say.” -Virginia Woolf

unnamed-6

4 thoughts on “The Way Forward

  1. Keep writing Hannah, you have so much insight to how we all feel, becoming an adult is so full of pressure and grasping for the ability to survive….keep trying , your confidence will return, like a breath of fresh spring air.

  2. That note is the absolute best! I hope today is a good day, and that you’re enjoying each and every one of those cookies.

Leave a Reply

