You Have One New Message

Today I want to hear what you have to say. We all have something important to say, I think.

Screen Shot 2014-01-27 at 10.03.52 AM

“The absolute yearning of one human body for another particular body and its indifference to substitutes is one of life’s major mysteries.” -Iris Murdoch

“If I were really really ridiculously wealthy, I wouldn’t buy a mansion, just tiny apartments in every city I love.” -Mara Wilson

“You’re not the kind of girl who settles. Keep not settling.” -Joy Wilson

unnamed-2 copy 7

“That’s always seemed so ridiculous to me, that people want to be around someone because they’re pretty. It’s like picking your breakfast cereals based on color instead of taste.” -John Green

“When I was younger, I saw twenty-somethings sitting at coffee shops and thought they must be so happy now that they’re older and have their lives together. Now I’m the twenty-something and I see that life doesn’t slow down and fall into place just because you’re old enough. Being older just means that you have to make time to stop and enjoy that coffee.” -Unsure (But I like the way they think.)

picstitch copy 2

“‘Sometimes I remember the way I used to be,’ she said as we sat across the table from each other, ‘and I’m surprised nobody ever smacked me.’ I took a long sip of my coffee so that I would not have to answer her. I wanted to tell her that she ought to be more generous to the girl she used to be, if not out of respect for herself, then out of respect for me, or more specifically for the boy I used to be, who loved that girl, after all.” -Kevin Brockmeier

“Here is the truth: It is hard to be in love with someone who is in love someone else. I don’t know how to turn that into poetry.” -Clementine von Radics

“Probably for every man there is at least one city that sooner or later turns into a girl. She was there, and she was the whole city, and that’s that.” -J.D. Salinger

unnamed

“Everyone’s chest is a living room wall with awkwardly placed photographs hiding fist-shaped holes.” -Andrea Gibson

“You are not an apology, do not treat yourself like one; your lips are perfect for kissing, your hips do not spell ‘sorry’.” -Azra. T

“Cakes have gotten a bad rap. People equate virtue with turning down dessert. There is always one person at the table who holds up her hand when I serve the cake. ‘No, really, I couldn’t,’ she says, and then gives her flat stomach a conspiratorial little pat. Everyone who is pressing a fork into that first tender layer looks at the person who declined the plate, and they all think, that person is better than I am. That person has discipline. But that isn’t a person with discipline; that is a person who has completely lost touch with joy. A slice of cake never made anybody fat. You don’t eat the whole cake. You don’t eat a cake every day of your life. You take the cake when it is offered because the cake is delicious. You have a slice of cake and what it reminds you of is someplace that’s safe, uncomplicated, without stress. A cake is a party, a birthday, a wedding. A cake is what’s served on the happiest days of your life. This is a story of how my life was saved by cake, so, of course, if sides are to be taken, I will always take the side of cake.” -Jenna Rae

Screen Shot 2014-01-27 at 9.32.35 AM

“My heart didn’t break into a thousand pieces after he left. Instead, I realized all the things he didn’t do. He didn’t want to hear my stories. He didn’t ask me questions. He didn’t smile when I was talking to him. He didn’t hug me out of the blue to make me feel good. His hugs were always a preamble to something else, and after he was gone, I wondered if he ever knew me at all.” -Diane Les Becquets

“If you ever find yourself in the wrong story, leave.” -Mo Willems

“…and you will somehow get through the slow days and the busy days and the dull days and the hateful days and the rare days, all both so delightful and so disappointing because we are all so alike and so different.” -Charles Bukowski

“Wanting to be understood, as adults, can be our most violent form of nostalgia.” -Adam Phillips

“Here are some questions I am constantly noodling over: Do you splurge or do you hoard? Do you live every day as if it’s your last, or do you save your money on the chance you’ll live twenty more years? Is life too short, or is it going to be too long? Do you work as hard as you can, or do you slow down to smell the roses? And where do carbohydrates fit into all this? Are we really all going to spend our last years avoiding bread, especially now that bread in America is so unbelievable delicious? And what about chocolate?” -Nora Ephron

unnamed-1 copy 4

“‘The trick, kiddo,’ his mom replies slowly. ‘Is finding someone who complements you instead of completes you. You need to be complete on your own.’” -Unknown

“The world isn’t about you, and love still wins.” -Hannah Brencher

“Maybe it seems downright impossible to just let people know you want them, need them, feel like, in this very moment, you will die if you do not see them, hold them, touch them in some way. Whether it’s your feet on their thighs on the couch or your tongue in their mouth or your heart in their hands. But there is nothing more risky than pretending not to care. We are young and we are human and we are beautiful, and we are not as in control as we think we are.” -Rachel C. Lewis

“Can’t repeat the past?…Why of course you can!” -F. Scott Fitzgerald

“A writer with her work needs to be like a dog with a bone, all the time. She needs to know where she’s hidden it. Where she’s stored the good stuff. She needs to keep gnawing at it, even after all the meat seems to be gone.” -Dani Shapiro

unnamed-3 copy 7

“The only time to eat diet food is while you’re waiting for the steak to cook.” -Julia Child

unnamed-1

“When you love someone you don’t love them all the time, in exactly the same way, from moment to moment. It is an impossibility. It is even a lie to pretend to. And yet this is exactly what most of us demand. We have so little faith in the ebb and flow of life, of love, of relationships. We leap at the flow of the tide and resist in terror its ebb. We are afraid it will never return. We insist on permanency, on duration, on continuity; when the only continuity possible, in life as in love, is in growth, in fluidity — in freedom.” -Anne Morriw Lindbergh

“A serious girl, when she finds someone who calms her spirit and quiets her busy thoughts, will love you so fiercely, it will defy even her own logic and reasoning.” -Unknown

“With you, even ‘hello’ sounds like ‘come here’.” -Warsan Shire

“Let yourself sit by an apple tree and listen to the apples falling all around you in heaps, wasting their sweetness. Tell yourself you tasted as many as you could.” -Louise Erdrich

unnamed-2 copy 5

“I always like it when I pass really old people on the street who are wearing perfume or cologne. It’s as if they are silently saying to the world “I’m not done yet!” -Jonathan Carroll

“In the end, only three things matter: how much you loved, how gently you lived, and how gracefully you let go of things not meant for you.” -Jack Kornfield

2 thoughts on “You Have One New Message

Leave a Reply

