The Best Bakery in NYC

photo-7

If you could just give me a moment…alone with this peanut butter cookie, I will tell you all about how things are starting to look up.

photo-8

Apparently, I do some of my best thinking while cutting cookies like pies. And while systematically extracting chocolate chunks.

As it turns out, I’m very happy to be living approximately 60 seconds away from There’s More Where That Came From. This means, by default, that I am at least somewhat happy about being here. Here being smack dab in the middle of Manhattan.

This ‘neighborhood’ of mine might be mostly concrete and mostly frantic, but I’ve decided it’s not all bad. There is often a lot of running going on, which I like. I don’t mean the I’m-in-a-hurry-and-I’m-going-to-whack-you-with-my-briefcase-if-you-don’t-pick-up-the-pace kind of running, although of course there is a lot of that too.

photo-3

Assuming that you can find a place to stop and slow down for a minute, there are pretty places to be found. They just might require a filter or two.

photo-4

You can even go stargazing, if you’re into that sort of thing.

photo-5

There might come a time, out on a majorly mobbed sidewalk, that you wind up feeling more alone than you do upstairs, in your tiny apartment. That’s okay. Haven’t we learned that loneliness comes and goes? Just think: there is no one up there to make you feel bad about spoiling your appetite before dinner. You can always have hunks of aged Manchego + slices of fig later on if you get hungry again.

Or, if you’re feeling ambitious (and slightly sugared out), you can make a pan full of paella. You don’t have to leave the shrimp out, because you like them. And they’re a good source of protein. We’re taking care of ourselves, here.

photo

I know it’s hard to believe, but someday, you might fall for something other than Paella for Twelve and Still-Warm Cookie.

You will know when almost every single thing you say is really just another way of saying I love you. From ‘dinner’s ready’ and ‘careful, it’s still hot’ to ‘it’s raining, don’t forget your umbrella’ and ‘hurry back.’

You will know when you look at someone and think: I like you first, second, and third. You will know when someone hugs you so tight that it feels like all of your broken pieces are sticking back together.

You may have already learned all this, all of this ‘how you know’ business. Here is the tricky part, though. One day, you might have to learn all over again. How will you know when it’s time? It might be when he changes his haircut. It might be when he starts forgetting to remember you. Or I don’t know, it might be when he looks at someone else and thinks: happen, with me.

It might take you a very long time to get there yourself. That’s okay. I told you, we’re about one minute’s walk from the best bakery in NYC. There’s no need to rush.

2 thoughts on “The Best Bakery in NYC

Leave a Reply

