Potato Salad with Greek Yogurt, Dijon, and Dill

Confession: I’ve begun reading cookbooks like novels before bed. I’m not exactly quite sure when this happened. But somewhere along the line, my clock and lamp officially got the axe from my nightstand in order to make way for a swaying stack of food memoirs.

It takes a lot of restraint for me not to devour them whole – 200 or 300 pages at a time. Picking up my own pen feels as natural as breathing, and by the time my eyelids are half-closed, I’ve always written pages too.

I’m going to take a pass on analyzing what this means, partially because I already have my hands full trying to quiet the little voice that says pursue this.

Instead, I’m going to think about something else I’ve recently noticed [while recipe-reading]: I have a list of “page-turners.”

Sundried tomatoes tell me to turn the page – that is, as soon as it becomes unstuck. Side note: a cookbook with an occasional page glued together by an unidentifiable ingredient is a cookbook worth keeping.

Raw red onions, anchovies, cottage cheese, and anise-flavored anything also tell me to continue thumbing through. Truthfully, if a recipe calls for one of those ingredients, there’s an 85% chance I won’t make it.

Only mayonnaise is responsible for an outright rejection 100% of the time. I’m not entirely certain why I have such a bone to pick with this condiment. After all, I have nothing against neutral oils, I’m okay with vinegar, I like eggs, I love lemon juice, and I’m all about mustard.

Be that as it may, only mayonnaise has the ability to ruin an otherwise perfectly good sandwich. Mayonnaise is also the reason why I have always passed on potato salad.

photo copy 2

But just before I fell asleep last week, a recipe for a lighter version of potato salad [WITH NO MAYO!] caught my eye. That one only turned out to be garbage-disposal-worthy, but this one was worth writing about.

It’s so simple, both in terms of ingredients and technique. It will give you plenty of time to slave over a fancy main dish, should you be in that sort of mood.

photo copy

I can’t promise that it will give a traditional potato salad a run for its money because I haven’t tried one. I can only vouch for the addictive creaminess here, and for the little punch of Dijon that pairs so beautifully with fresh dill.

photo

I highly recommend it [along with a few pinches of sea salt].

Recipe [Serves 6]:

Ingredients:

2 lbs. potatoes, diced [I used a combination of Yukon Gold and Red Bliss]

1 tsp Dijon mustard

1 cup plain Greek yogurt [I used Chobani 0% fat]

2 tsp chopped dill [I wouldn’t try to substitute an equivalent amount of dried]

Salt and pepper to taste

Method:

Dice the potatoes, place them in a stockpot, and cover them with water.

Bring potatoes to a boil and cook until they are easily pierced with a fork [about 15-20 minutes].

Prepare the yogurt sauce: combine yogurt, Dijon, and chopped dill in a small bowl and mix well.

Drain potatoes and return them to stockpot to cool [about 15-20 minutes].

Add the yogurt sauce to the stockpot full of potatoes; mix well.

Season with salt and pepper to taste; garnish with fresh chives if desired.

Barely Adapted from Life As A Strawberry

Leave a Reply

