Simple [Avocado-Mango] Salsa

I’m slightly bipolar when it comes to grocery shopping. Sometimes I feel like just the combination of planning the week in food and rounding up the reusable bags is a positively Herculean effort. On these days, there’s not a drop of patience in my tank for the cart with the rebellious wheel, or for the produce man unloading only green and greener bananas at a snail’s pace. I morph into a compulsive clock-watcher and treat each aisle like a 100-meter sprint.

But occasionally, escapades to the grocery store [or stores, plural] turn out to be the highlight of my Sunday…with ample time for wheedling a cheese sample out of the sour-faced old man with a personal pungency to rival the ripest Roquefort. I linger by the fresh flowers and run the risk of loitering by the bakery. I pause to cradle each shiny piece of produce in my hands and I spend minutes in front of the bulk bins while I deliberate the ways in which I could fill my plastic bag. These mid-morning outings often stretch into the afternoon and push lunch into late-snack territory.

It’s only after this latter sort of trip that I end up with both a ripe mango and avocado on my counter. After all, it takes a lot of endurance to set rock after rock aside, in search of the gem with a little bit of give.

Regardless of whether the day’s shopping has swung more towards Chore or Adventure, I’m very reliable about being ready to eat when I get home. I blame this sudden urge to eat for three on being surrounded wall-to-wall by an awesome amount of edible things for over an hour.

I usually want something quickly, before the post-food shopping high has a chance to wear off. You can also count on me to want something I’ve just picked out and put away, rather than a specific something that needed to be eaten yesterday [I see you and I’m ignoring you, Slimy Spinach].

photo copy 2

When it feels too time-consuming to cook a grain, I opt for a tortilla. When it feels too laborious to blacken my own peppers, I reach for the jarred variety. And when it feels overwhelming to look for a recipe, I choose chicken.

And thennnn, when I’m feeling completely unenthused about a roasted pepper and grilled chicken tortilla [but VERY enthused about a ½ pound of chocolate-toffee covered almonds], I fill a bowl with all that is good in the world: mango, avocado, orange, lime, garlic, honey, and olive oil.

photo copy

Trust me on this: juicing the citrusy fruits sounds much more irritating than it is, and it will make your hands smell good indefinitely. And mangling your mango is actually quite a tasty task.

photo

If this salsa doesn’t end up satisfying your sweet tooth, give the aforementioned and now-jarred chocolate-toffee covered almonds a little more breathing room. I’m sure they won’t mind.

 

Recipe [Generously Serves 2]:

Ingredients:

½ clove garlic, finely chopped

2 tablespoons freshly squeezed orange juice

1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lime juice

1 teaspoon grated orange zest

½  teaspoon honey

1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

Sea salt to taste

Ground black pepper to taste

1 mango, diced (about 1 cup)

1 avocado, diced (about 1 cup)

Method: 

In a large bowl, whisk together garlic, orange juice, lime juice, orange zest, honey and olive oil.

Taste and adjust seasoning with salt and pepper.

Add mango and avocado.

Toss to combine.

Serve immediately.

Recipe from Whole Foods Market 

One thought on “Simple [Avocado-Mango] Salsa

Leave a Reply

