IIFYM: Too Good To Be True?

How many meals a day do you think you’d be happy to eat flakey white fish and whole grains?

photo copy 15

photo copy 18

photo copy 17

photo copy 16

How many snacks in a row do you think you’d be content to munch on what some might mistake for bird food, with only plain 0% fat Greek yogurt to wash it down?

photo copy 11

photo copy 13

How long would it take you to lose enthusiasm at the sight of a steamer full of vegetables?

photo copy 20

How long would it take you to run out of protein-packed and carbohydrate-crammed salad ideas?

photo copy 9

photo copy 19

photo copy 14

I’ve figured out I can last about three months at a time eating perfectly “clean” [whatever that means]. Here’s the fine print: It’s only about two days before I start getting grumpy watching people around me enjoy foods I’ve declared off limits, and only about 12 hours before I start longing for something sweet.

However, I do genuinely love all of the dishes pictured above. You’d be surprised how many ways you can transform a fish fillet, how many whole grains are on the market, what a big difference roasting a mixture of nuts makes, how a spoonful of Stevia can cut the tanginess in unflavored Greek yogurt, how creamy plain old parsnips taste after they’ve been steamed, and what a variety of things can moonlight as salad toppings.

You’ll discover all sorts of things when you piggyback healthy onto healthy:

  • How a delicious kind of honey seeps out of baked sweet potato
  • How much better quinoa tastes when it’s toasted beforehand
  • How savory onions become when they’re deglazed with balsamic vinegar
  • How buttery-soft salmon turns out when it’s sealed in a parchment paper packet

But this type of diet isn’t sustainable – at least it wasn’t for me. Not 365 days a year. And it WAS a diet. I could’ve told people it was a “lifestyle” until I was blue in the face, but any lifestyle that permanently cuts chocolate and cheese makes for a pretty crummy life, non?

There’s an acronym floating around the Internet right now: IIFYM [If It Fits Your Macros]. “Macro” refers to “macronutrient”. Don’t let your eyes drift out of focus! Words like “macro” make me want to locate the nearest bed too. T’inquiète [colloquial French for “don’t worry”]; you don’t have to highlight anything, I promise. But as the collective name for all the nutrients we need to ingest the most of for optimal growth & development, energy production, and body regulation, macros are pretty important.

There are three* macronutrients:

  • Protein
  • Carbohydrates
  • Fat

*But I almost consider fiber to be a fourth, and I monitor my fiber intake as closely as I do the others.

My macros [calculated on My Fitness Pal, with my boyfriend’s adjustments] tell me the ideal daily ratio of each. It’s like a road map for how best to “spend” the 2,000 calories I should [currently] be consuming per day.

Does this sound like a diet? Well, I suppose it is. But it’s the highest calorie diet I’ve ever been on, and it’s given me the most freedom I’ve had since I started caring about my physique. How so? Because as long as I meet my macros and stay within my daily calorie goal, I can enjoy foods I normally wouldn’t, guilt-free. When the whim strikes, I can have white pasta instead of whole wheat [c’mon, you know it tastes better], or a slice of cake after lunch instead of a mid-afternoon snack.

photo copy 22

If you look into IIFYM at all, you won’t get very far before you find a wise guy with a comment somewhere along the lines of “so I can eat nothing but pop tarts and still get ripped?” Well, no. If you ate nothing but pop tarts all day, you wouldn’t fit your macros. As I said, I keep a close eye on my fiber intake, which prevents me from eating too many micronutrient-empty foods. I approach the IIFYM philosophy as an occasional welcome break from the healthy foods that make up most of my diet, most of the time: oats, brown rice, sweet potatoes, vegetables, chicken, fish, berries, avocados, etc.

And when plugging everything into My Fitness Pal starts to feel too restrictive, I take a night or even a whole day off from tracking my food. I go out to eat with my boyfriend or I cook with my mom, and I give myself a break from thinking about food so much. Interestingly enough, I don’t feel the urge to binge on those occasions…because I can pretty much always set things up so I can enjoy anything I want in moderation while I am counting.

Is it a formula that would work for everybody? Of course not. But for someone who craves an element of control, and for someone who struggles with feeling guilt-free after “indulging”, I think the IIFYM concept is a good step in the right direction. Maybe one day, I won’t need to track anything at all. But for now, there is a built-in flexibility to IIFYM that I seem to be unable to manufacture on my own, and it makes me able to nod my head “yes!” when:

My boyfriend makes me a still-bubbling tartiflette and a melty dark chocolate fondant and and says c’est l’heure de la bouffe [it’s time to eat]:

photo copy 10

photo copy 12

One brother presents me with his cure-all-ills homemade pizza, and the other follows up with the best cookie in all of London:

photo copy 8

photo copy 21

Leave a Reply

